Search This Blog

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

We Stood Upon Stars by Roger Thompson

Get Lost. . . and Find What Really Matters
 
We are made for freedom and adventure, friendship and romance. Yet too much of life is spent unfulfilled at work, restless at home, and bored at church.  All the while knowing there is something more. You’ll find some of life’s best moments waiting for you over a campfire, on a river—even in that coffee shop or brewery you didn’t know you’d discover along the way. It’s time to begin the search. 
 
In the literary spirit of well-worn tales about America’s open road, this poetic, honest, often hilarious collection of essays shows how to embark on adventures that kindle spiritual reflection, personal growth, and deeper family connections.
 
From surfing California’s coastlines, stargazing southwestern deserts, and fly-fishing in remote mountains of Montana, you’ll be inspired to follow the author’s footsteps and use the hand-drawn maps from each chapter to plan your own trips.  There you will hear God’s voice – and it may help you find what you’re searching for.

My Thoughts:

Set your sights on adventure and get ready to be still in the presence of God as you go on an adventure of a life-time with the one who is full of adventures. In the book "Finding God in the Lost Places" you'll love this collection of essays written by the author that is perfect as you begin to plan road trips for upcoming summer travel plans. I love how he tells the stories of his childhood or previous generations. I love how he talks about the stories of his children now. This book is fun and is creative. I love hearing how he sees the world through his travel experiences and as a person who loves to travel, I found this book to be inspiring and encouraging. This is definitely a book I will pull out this summer again for inspiration. I highly recommend this book if you are a traveler and give this book 4/5 stars.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Crazy Is My Superpower By A.J. Mendez Brooks

Crazy Is My Superpower isn’t just for wrestling fans. The truth is, there is much to love with regards to our endearing wrestling-centric world, but this is simply the tracks in which the train known as AJ’s life is traveling upon. I should have known simply by the title – but as us fans usually do, we take the face-value of something and run with it. The title harkens a not-so-distant memory of a character on TV that I fawned over weekly on this very site. It recalls multiple kisses, crazy acts, spaced out eyes, wedding rage, and a Black Widow submission that caused more ass-smacks than I could handle.
But this title isn’t about the character AJ Lee, it’s about AJ Mendez Brooks, and that is where all of the strengths of this book reside.
In Crazy Is My Superpower, Brooks is unabashedly open with her upbringing, displaying the most embarrassing and shameful moments of her childhood without remorse. From being asked to strip nude in front of her mother as punishment, to the harsh reality of having to stab an intruder before the age of 15, Brooks dives deep into her past and opens the door for all of us to see. And yet, she does this with an air of authenticity and never asks for pity. In the book, she admits to a mental disorder, depicts her parents as incredibly flawed yet loving, displays a family in constant struggled, and a girl surviving in a dirty world. Often times, a biography that holds a harsh upbringing tugs at the heartstrings for some semblance of sympathy, but Brooks never once comes off that way. Instead, her story is more for relating and understanding that it did not break her. Brooks doesn’t display a need for anyone’s sympathy, but instead for understanding – not for herself, but for the reader. 
Another high point of the book itself is her admission of suffering from bi-polar disorder. Again, she takes a high road by not only admitting she suffers from this, but just how integral it is into the fabric of her upbringing and life. She shines a light on a disorder that is continuously misunderstood and often times confused with depression. In learning more about AJ’s upbringing and her tumultuous life as a child, well into her adulthood, the reader is allowed to understand just how much a disorder such as this can affect a person and their family, and how it never truly goes away.
I definitely feel like this book will hit home with a lot of people. Wrestling fans may enjoy it, but I think that this gem may be better suited to someone struggling. It is always a good feeling to know that someone is going through what you. 
This was a great read coming from a wrestling fan and also someone who likes intriguing books. Make sure you go out and grab a copy.
I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

"WHAT LIGHT" by Jay Asher

"WHAT LIGHT" has all the trappings of Hallmark Christmas movie. It has likable characters and a sappy story, but lacks real depth. Around this time of year, I do not feel that this is a problem.A release from life, never hurt anyone.

The story focuses around Sierra. Her family has ran a Christmas tree lot, in California, for the last thirty years. It is where her mom met her dad and is truly like her second home. California brings holiday traditions, her good friend Heather, and a chance for them to see the end result of joy from their trees.

It also brings along a chance of change. The tree lot has not been bringing the business that it used to and it may possibly be the last Christmas here. So Caleb smiling at her was the last thing she wanted.

Caleb brings a lot of baggage with him and the stories about his dark past flood the town. 'What is the big secret he is hiding?" Sierra just keeps getting warned to stay away from him.

"WHAT LIGHT" gets a 4.25 rating. The climax is not as explosive, as I thought that it would be. That is made up, by the vivid imagery. You definitely feel that you are experiencing a town at Christmastime. Sierra and Caleb's relationship makes it feel like a relationship of first love. It is worth investing your time.


Sierra's family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it's a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb's past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that's moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

Sunday, November 13, 2016

Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

All River Dean could remember was his time with Penny. She was his first girlfriend and they had always been inseparable, even to the point that his friends despised him with Penny. He had no reason to get his drivers license, because Penny always drove. So his world seemed to come crashing down when she dumped him, in the middle of a lake. He wasn't sure what he would do.

Alone with a broken heart, without a way home. River had to venture across the city on foot. This journey ended up with him coming across A Second Chance. A place where kids with addictions and promises could share and try to overcome life's battles.

At that moment, he knows that he needs someone. So he fakes a marijuana addiction in order to be welcome into the group. This is the start of a wonderful journey filled with recover, growing, and finding your place in life.

"Tell Us Something True" started off slow for me and halfway through the book I wasn't sure if I wanted to finish it. It seemed that River wasn't growing and the characters did not resonate with me, but I decided to keep going. I am glad that I did. The book really picks in the last 60 pages and I finally felt invested.

The book gets 3.5 stars due to the slower start. It makes me feel good to know that it ended like it did. There is not anything better than a book that redeems itself.


For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. 
Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive.

But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.

Monday, November 7, 2016

Wanted: Book Reviewers

We are looking for a couple interested people who would like to write book reviews. You have to enjoy young adult fiction. We would especially love someone who loves young adult fiction. 

Qualifications: the ability to write well and meet a timeline.

If you are interested, please contact us. 


Sunday, November 6, 2016

The Best Man by Richard Peck

Growing up, Archer Magill has always been looking for adult role-models. The four that he finds are his dad, grandpa, uncle Paul, and the first male teacher, Mr. McLeod. These men form that basis of Archer's formative years and help show his way through life.

"The Best Man" was a wonderful read. It felt fresh because it was a story about growing up, but was based around today's world. Usually stories like this are covering a time when things were way different. The subject matter was a welcome change, compared to other books like this. The current feel is something that is relatable.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. The story will take you back to your era of middle-school innocence, where the world seems perfect until you have your first taste of the cruelty of life. The characters were rememberable.

My only problem with the book was the fact that it was such a quick read. It felt like some of the stories were just added to it without allowing them their full depth. At times, it seemed that it was written with children's short attention spans in mind. I know that it was a broad timeframe to cover, so it didn't affect it that much, though. 

All in all, I would recommend this book. Richard Peck always leaves you feeling satisfied and "The Best Man" is no exception. It will make you laugh and even tug at your heartstrings a bit. The most important thing is that it will take you back. 

"The Best Man"by Richard Peck- 4 out of 5 stars